School Visit: Independent Learning Time with Interactive White Board

Standard

Friday I was out visiting schools in our district seeing how deeply embedded our Educational Technology Initiative was embedded in the classroom practice.  While I saw varying degrees of implementation at the three schools I visited which I think can be attributed to some of the challenges of wifi connectivity the schools have been experiencing.  At my last school I visited I was blown away by the Early Kindergarten Class.  Many activity centres but by far the most popular was the Interactive White Board Centre.  At that centre I found two girls practicing writing letters on the board.  The gizmo they were using randomly generating a letter on the board which the two girls were able to practice tracing and drawing.  They were totally engaged in the activity much like the two boys in this youtube video I found with a similar Independent Learning Centre.

Many thanks to the Principals and Staff at Branlyn, Centennial Grand Woodlands, and Central Public School in Brantford Ontario for letting me visit their school and classrooms on Friday.

Leave a Reply

