Summers Here Time to “Sharpen The Saw”

Standard

I haven’t blogged for awhile and today I thought I might try to get things going again here on my blog.

As a Superintendent there is no last day of school like you find when you are a principal or teacher.  The summer and rest of the year just blend all together and it is like this that I find this summer.  I have been working all this week but it is a bit less hectic then in the regular school year.  The never-ending barrage of email has slowed down so that I actually clear my inbox regularly and all those long term planning pieces are finally getting some attention.  I am even getting a chance to do some professional reading (sliding in a bit of personal reading as well).  Steven Covey in the Seven Habits of Highly Effective People refers to this as “Sharpening the Saw”.  It is taking time to step away from things, refresh, develop relationships with others in your circle of influence.  We in education are lucky to have the gift of time in the summer and it is so important that we use it to do those things we can’t easily find time to do.

Leave a Reply

